Select news, reviews, interviews, essays and media postings

In reverse chronology

2014 March 22 Martin Parr and Gerry Badger give a presentation on The Photobook: A History Volume III at Le Bal in Paris (link to come). Conscientious review Photo-eye review

2014 March 17 Citation of Invisible City in Martin Parr and Gerry Badger's newly released The Photobook: A History Volume III

2014 March 04 Publish Your Photography Book, (2nd ed. revised and updated) Princeton Architectural Press, 2014. Darius D. Himes and Mary Virginia Swanson survey the current landscape of photography book publishing. Includes my essay on publishing my eBook study on Ken Schles: Invisible City, A Digital Resource.

2014 February 27 Auction of photobooks, Swann Galleries

2014 February 15 - March 15 The Book and the Image opens at Only Photogtraphy, Berlin

2014 February 11: Acquisition of a print for the Permanent Collection of the US Embassy, Sana'a, Yemen, Art in Embassies, US Department of State

2014 February 6 Exhibition of special edition photography book titles including Schles' Oculus alongside others opens, Only Photography, Berlin, Germany.

2014 January Publication of Dan Winter's On the Road To Seeing, in which my photograph, James About To Marry, is reproduced in a chapter chronicling 175 years of street photography.

2014 January 9 Douglas Stockdale on The Photobook blog describes 10x10 American Photobooks.

2014 January 04 Johan Brink makes a selection of best photobooks of 2013 and includes 10x10 American Photobooks in his blog (Johan Brink) 2013 års bästa fotografi.

2013 December 16 Douglas Stockdale on The Photobook blog self-referentially lists 10x10 American Photobooks as an interesting photobook of 2013.

2013 December 12 Bint Photoboks on INTernet - Bintphotobooks Selection of Notable photoBooks 2013 lists 10x10 American Photobooks.

2013 December 10 Deirdre's Best [Photobooks] of 2012-2013 Monsters and Madonnas, the blog of the library at the International Center of Photography lists 10x10 American Photobooks.

2013 December Rangefinder Magazine, Photo Finish "New York City Night Life" by David Carol on the reprinting of Invisible City.

2013 November 10 American Photo Photobook Collectng In he Age of the Thousand Dollar Zine, an interview with photobook expert Tom Claxton gives advice on photobook collecting and mentions his strategy for obtaining a copy of Invisible City.

2013 November 9 The New Frame writes about Invisible City.

2013 November Belgrade, Serbia first Visualizer Festival exhibition of Invisible City.

2013 October 24-27 6th Kassel Fotobook Festival releases the volume On Daido, a photographic anthology of statements and homages to Daido Moriyama made by internationally known photographers and authors (I was honored to be be invited to contribute). 88 pages, 30×30 cm. Out of print.

2013 September 24 Review of the 10x10 American Photobooks project. For the FOAM Blog.

2013 September 16-24 The first Sofia Photography Festival in Sofia, Bulgaria featuring an exhibition of Invisible City. Here is a link to the catalog.

2013 September 15 Announced selections for the 2013 Kassel Photobook Award, of which I was a jury member.

2013 September 11 10x10 American Photobooks opens at the Tokyo Institute of Photography. Invisible City will be on display in the gallery and reproduced twice in the book, selected by both Kazuhiro Yamaji of Flying Books and Douglas Stockdale of the Photobooks blog along with A New History of Photography selected by Tom Claxton of Claxton Projects. I also contributed an essay to the catalog.

2013 September 10 The selection of Invisible City for the 10x10 American Photobooks exhibition by Kazuhiro Yamaji of Flying Books of Tokyo is revealed.

2013 September 08 To end AD Coleman's five part blog series on the state of contemporary photobook publishing, There Will Be Ink, Coleman weighs in on e-book publishing and ends his essay with a link to the e-book/iBook study of Invisible City by The Photobook Club.

2013 September 08 The launch of the new magazine Let's Panic features an essay by Ken Schles and reproductions from Invisible City.

2013 May 30 A chance encounter led to this [Canadian] blog entry.

2013 May 06 This, an interview with the noted photographer Ken Light is well worth listening to, plus he gives the work of Ken Schles a nice shout out towards the end of the piece.

Spring 2013 The Turkish originated Dog Food issue two edited by Jason Eskenazi, Laurence Cornet, Laura De Marco, Arjen Zwart and Fred Lezmi. Here, I soliloquize my photobook collection and list my favorite ten books and films.

2013 May 03 10x10 American Photobooks previews in LIC, NY ahead of an exhibition September 2013 at the Tokyo Institute of Photography. In addition to the selections mentioned below made by photobook experts, I was asked to contribute an essay to the catalog.

2013 April 30 Podcast interview on Necessary and Sufficient. Prime and Zoom: Funny how an effort to define a technical photographic idea quickly shifts into the realm of meaning.

2013 April 27 2013 "These photobooks all have one critical characteristic in common: insightful and intelligent artists have produced them. They are photographers who use the tools of their medium to enquire, reflect and provoke, and have produced works that compel the viewer to question both the subject documented and the social landscape of our surroundings." Tom Claxton on his Claxton Projects site announces 10 selections for the publication 10x10 American Photobooks (see description in previous entry). Tom Claxton cites the 10 significant books of the last 10 years, A New History of Photography being one of them.

2013 April 25 2013 "Ken Schles – Invisible City: Photographs by Ken Schles (Twelvetrees Press, 1988) A gritty documentary project that brought the essence of Robert Frank into the city. A photobook that is a classic and a wonderful example of the progression in photobook publishing." Douglas Stockdale on his Photobooks site announces his selection for the publication 10x10 American Photobooks, a new publication to be released this Fall listing significant contributions of American photobook makers in the last 25 years. This project, spearheaded by the International Center of Photography Library, the Tokyo Institute of Photography and the Facebook Photo Group selected photobook experts from around the world to make selections.

2013 March 08 Talk on 4 books, an eBook and an upcoming publication at the University of California Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism Center for Photography accompanying exhibition.

2013 March 7 "Don't Miss" San Francisco Chronicle runs half page description of exhibition of Invisible City at the University of California Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism Gallery Center for Photography in the 96 Hours section of the paper. Reception, talk and book signing March 8th.

2013 March 04 Aphorisms towards imagery. Take a talk and remove all referencecs to specific images, and we are left with a theory of photography. For the FOAM Blog.

2013 March 04 Ken Schles – Invisible City: A Digital Resource mentioned in "Digital Photobook Advantages."

2013 February 13 Le Journal de la Photographie Essay on the Invisible City exhibition in Berkeley. "We know a place best through the intimacies of contact: through direct and meaningful encounters with people situated in the everyday; through the tactile surfaces of walls and flesh and streets—and through the mythos that we distill from each and every one of those encounters..."

2013 February 11 Gave a talk at Cooper Union (my alma mater) for a history of photography class. The talk was on my book: A New History of Photography. But what was really special about it was seeing Gail Buckland, the extraordinary history of photography professor I studied under still teaching --33 years later.

2013 February 5 The Antifoto Manifesto With texts and statements by Manuela Barczewski , Michael Biedowicz , Laura Bielau, Janine Blöß, Sophie Boursat, Ulrike Brückner, Swen Buckner, Ben Burbridge, Olivier Cablat, Charlotte Cotton, Joerg M. Colberg, Christoph Dettmeier, Felix Dobbert, Jason Evans, Martin Fengel, Rainer Gabriel , Stefanie Grebe, Allison Grant, Stephen Gill, Stefanie Haarkamp, Sebastian Hau, Robert Hartmann, Marvin Heiferman, Yoshinori Henguchi, Elmar Hermann, Christoph Hochhäusler, Todd Hido, Iris Maria vom Hof, Anton Ignaz, Mischa Kuball, Thomas W. Kuhn, Karin Krijgsman, Doris Krystof, Christiane Kuhlmann, Jeffrey Ladd, Jason Lazarus, Peter Lindhorst, Thomas Neumann, Gordon MacDonald, Ted Partin, Ulrich Pohlmann, Doug Rickard, Judith Samen, Adrian Sauer, Ken Schles, Joachim Schmid, Sigrid Schneider, Wilhelm Schürmann, Thomas Seelig, Oliver Sieber, Alec Soth, Juergen Staack , Eric Stephanian, Clare Strand, Katja Stuke, Mariko Takeuchi, Anke Volkmer, Thomas Wiegand, Denise Winter, Erik van der Weijde, Duncan Wooldridge, Anna Zika, Damian Zimmermann.

2013 February 4 Ken Schles shares an interview he gave Chinese magazine Photoworld about digital promotion for the photographer. For the FOAM Blog. Well, actually for Photoworld magazine.

2013 January 23 - April 30 Exhibition of Invisible City at the University of California Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism Gallery Center for Photography. Reception, talk and book signing March 8th. Reception starts at 6pm in the library. Talk North Gate Room 105 (corner Hearst & Euclid, Berkeley) directions

2013 January 22 Quoted on My Eye Is My Window site.

2013 January 03 Essay Images and Emergence. Ken Schles considers how image-making, like other forms of technology, has implications far beyond its primary purpose. For the FOAM Blog.

2013 January 01 Ken Schles – Invisible City: A Digital Resource voted Facebook Photobook Group best digital book of 2012 by Fb group members. d/l

2012 December 12 The Book of Books from the website (China) Hydrogen Peroxide (h2o2). A translation.

2012 December 10 Oculus The Photobook Club's B*@t of year two years back to back. "It is always pleasing to find out that the book you were gushing about 12 months ago is one that has continued to entertain and educate/frustrate over this past year."

2012 December 08 Invisible City by Ken Schles from 1988. (3:10 mark) "Perhaps one of the greatest portrayals of nocturnal urban life of the 20th Century -- certainly keeping equal company with Brassai's classic Paris de Nuit. Writing in 1988 New York Times Critic Andy Grundberg hailed its "minor key vitality and unkempt brilliance." Critic Guy Trebay said Schles' Invisible City is "a picture book that comprehends both the shambles and the thrall of the city," " quotes Photo-Eye auction's curator, Eric Miles.

2012 December 07 "The most surprising 2012 photobook publication to me has been The Photobook Club's free-of-charge e-book: Ken Schles – Invisible City: A Digital Resource. A page-by-page digital representation of the beautifully printed original 1988 book (which is rare and expensive nowadays) embedded within notes around the production of the book, and recent discussions. An excellent example of how valuable older, sometimes overlooked and understudied, photobooks can be lifted out of the shadows and be studied in a public realm beyond the traditional library." —Taco Hidde Bakker

2012 November 27 Top Digital Photobook (2012) Ken Schles: Invisible City, A Digital Resource by The Photobook Club as selected by The Digital Photobook website. A book about my book is selected as a best book of 2012.

2012 November 08 Essay Representation And Its Double. Ken Schles explains photography's infinite capacity to distort our understanding of reality as well as add to it. For the FOAM Blog.

2012 October 18-22 Texas Contemporary Art Fair. Rick Wester Fine Art shows Arbus, Avedon, Brandt, Frank and Schles, among others.

2012 October 18 A pop-up book exhibition at the Irvine Arts Center in Irvine California will replicates the book exhibition curated for the FotoGrafia di Roma XI exhibition at MACRO (Oculus included).

2012 October 07 Essay The Scale of Reality. We live in a physical world and we live in an image world. Ken Schles looks at the relationship between our relative size, the tools we make and the ideas we have to explain how we see and experience the world. For the FOAM Blog.

2012 September 22 Talk on Invisible City at the Istanbul Photography Museum. Exhibition extended to October 15th.

2012 September 20 As part of the FotoGrafia di Roma XI, there will be an exhibition of important recent photographic books on exhibit at the Museo d'Arte Contemporanea di Roma (MACRO) Testaccio, guest curated by Douglas Stockdale of The Photobook blog. My book Oculus will be on display and a copy placed into the permanent collection of the museum.

2012 September 19 Oculus among Le Journal de la Photographie's round-up of best photobooks of the season. "a unique book that will speak to Every Man at every level ...beautifully crafted ...deeply satisfying. This fourth book marks Ken Schles as a true master of his art and culture maker of the highest caliber."

2012 September 03 Essay We Make Lists Because We Don't Want To Die. Umberto Eco says we make lists because we don't want to die, because it is what we do to bring order and comprehension to a world that touches on the infinite. For the FOAM Blog.

2012 September 03 Matt Johnston Five questions to Matt Johnston of The Photobook Club An interview with Matt Johnston, founder of the Photobook Club and publisher of Ken Schles: Invisible City, A Digital Resource on the blog The Digital Photobook.

2012 August 27 Orientation lecture to incoming master candidates, School of Visual Arts, NYC.

2012 August 02 Essay In Splendid Isolation. Ken Schles explains how not just images, but our very selves are unavoidably the product of what surrounds and informs us. For the FOAM Blog.

2012 July 19-22 ArtMRKT Hamptons booth 209. Rick Wester Fine Art shows Schles, Frank and Arbus.

2012 July 02 Essay The Look of Love. Ken Schles recounts the death of both his parents just hours apart and is reminded of the shifting nature of meaning in photographs. For the FOAM Blog.

2012 June 23 - Oct 15 Istanbul Photo Museum (Istanbul Fotograf Müzesi), Three Photographers: from Bursa to Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey.

2012 June 14 Matt Johnston interviewed at the SIP Blog: Recent Genealogy of the Photobook: on Ken Schles' Invisible City, A Digital Resource.

2012 June 02 Essay A Call From The Wilderness. Ken Schles acknowledges the important role programmes like Noorderlicht play in supporting the development of an artist's practice. For the FOAM Blog.

2012 May 19 Ken Schles Invisible City iBook Verve Photo

2012 May 11 Matt Johnston Ken Schles' Invisible City, A Digital Resource (runtime 04:30).

2012 May 02 Essay Staving Off Infinite Regress By Way Of Interpreting Agee. In his first post for the Foam Blog, Ken Schles takes James Agee as a starting point to explain the relationship between seeing and knowing. For the FOAM Blog.

2012 May Interview with Christian Patterson on his book Readheaded Peckerwood, "Photographer, Detective, Photobook-Maker," The Photobook Review (PBR002), Aperture Spring 2012.

2012 April 21 The Photobook Club of New York let me talk about my books.

2012 April 16 The Photobook reviews Oculus "A refreshing change...highly recommended".

2012 April 16 Cuatro Cuerpos "Somos lo que vemos, vemos lo que somos" (We are what we see, we see what we are) Review in this wonderful Spanish photobook blog out of Madrid of A New History of Photography. Translation.

2012 March 28 Phot(o)lia "The photographs are magnificent …Oculus [is] a rewarding intellectual journey." -- Phot(o)lia

2012 March On Shadow: I had the opportunity to sit down with photographer Ken Schles a few weeks ago to discuss some ideas that had recently been bouncing round my head and how they related to some of the ideas discussed in his books. We started talking as soon as I arrived at his home, but I wasn't able to get my recorder out quick enough to catch everything. Nonetheless, as you'll see below, we had a long, engaging discussion touching on a whole variety of themes…

2012 January 25 and 30 I got a chance to guest blog for the esteemed photocritic A.D. Coleman on his blog Photocritic International. What do an evolutionary biologist and a Situational theorist have to teach us about the contemporary state of photographic criticism? Read my essay "Infinite Stupidity." Part one is here and this is part two.

January 16 2012 Librarie Chloe & Denis Ozanne issue the catalog "New York," which also includes a reference to Invisible City.

2012 January 12 Marc Feustel's Eyecurious Blog entry "On introspection, navel-gazing and nitpicking" references my musings on Umberto Eco's Lists.

2012 January 11 This on the Photobookclub site (UK): "A few months ago Ken Schles spoke at the SPE Northeast Conference in Syracuse [link to talk embedded at their site or see November 5th, 2011 entry below], if ever there was a dream-team conference, this was it for me! Ken's talk was posted online yesterday and I recommend anyone with even a passing interest in photobooks must take the time to view it. Ken takes us through all four of his monographs, looking both at content and theme as well as the publication challenges and triumphs he experienced. What most interested me is just how much Ken's books seem ultimately to form chapters in a much larger body of work, his interests and more importantly questions are never repeated, but we are reminded of them constantly. Ken is proof that Tod Papageorge knew what he was talking about: "If your pictures aren't good enough, you aren't reading enough" – Tod Papageorge This talk is best enjoyed with a chilled beverage and note taking device"

2011 December 27 Photo-Eye Best photobooks of 2011. Oculus "A poignant meditation on images and memory, Schles' book is as evocative as it is beautiful."

2011 December 22 Photo-Eye Review of Oculus by Adam Bell "Oculus is an unusual and uniquely important book, and defies easy categorization. Equal parts philosophical treatise and artist book, Oculus asks profound questions about how we find meaning in the world and how images give shape to memory and our lives. Viewers willing to spend time with this powerful work will be greatly rewarded."

2011 December 20 Marc Feustel's Eyecurious Blog entry "Photobooks 2011: And the winner is…" This seems to be the year of the photobook lists, of lists "talking" to lists. What do these lists signify? (Note: this entry was updated to include other books--such as Oculus--which made it onto a few more lists after this blog entry's original pub date.)

2011 December 16 Conveyor Blog Photobook Friday report on my sold out book signing at the International Center of Photography the night before "Oculous, [sic] released this October by Stichting Aurora Borealis, is an absolutely drop dead gorgeous, twelve inch by nine inch, ninety-six page book-fetishist's delight..."

2011 December 1 New York Foundation for the Arts Currents Meet A NYFA Artist Interview with 1989 Fellow Ken Schles ahead of a booksigning for Oculus at the International Center of Photography. Ken Schles looks at his career and focuses on his new book Oculus. "Our images are projections that are representative of our awareness of the world."

2011 November 27 ICP Library Blog round-up of books from Paris Photo. Includes Oculus and a photograph of me at Paris Photo Offprint signing copies of my newly released book.

2011 November 19 Quoted: "Ken - I hope you don't mind if I chime in here. I had the pleasure of seeing Oculus at Paris Photo and quite simply it's one of the best new photobooks I have seen in years: a towering accomplishment filled with aesthetic beauty and emotional depth. I can assure you this book will be a classic. Thanks for making it. I'll add that Ken's essay in the rear of the book is beautifully written. Ken's comments on people's silent suffering in the wake of the economic downturn is perfectly rendered. I have just looked at the book again after unpacking my trunks from Paris, and it gave me chills from beginning to end." --Harper Levine, Harper's Books (Jury Selection Committee Member for Le Prix du Livre Paris Photo 2011)

2011 November 5 Light Work hosts SPE Joint Regional Conference on "Photographers + Publishing": A talk by Ken Schles 4 Books (runtime 57:57).

2011 October 14 Guide to Useful Photography (GUP), NL RECOMMENDED. Write-up of Oculus: "Schles invokes Nabokov's idea that memories are the brief separation between the soul's abyss before life, and after death. If these images are a collection of Schles's memories, he's shared them with us, not because we can ever touch his memories, or see them fully, or even understand them; but because we are human, and we can project our own meanings, our own memories."

2011 September (all month) The Photo Book Club (UK) crowd sources and hosts a month long discusssion of Invisible City. Click through for commentary.

December 15 2011 ICP Bookstore Oculus booksigning. Sold Out.

2011 November 9 thru 13 Paris Photo Book signing for Oculus at the Schaden.com booth, Paris Photo and Offprint. Sold Out. Showing of Invisible City: Nightwalk, Outtakes and Fragments at Harper's Books.

2011 October 21 thru December 1 Oculus Groningen, The Netherlands at Noorderlicht. October 21st opening of the exhibition featuring an interview of Ken Schles by Ed Kashi. Release of the book Oculus. Look here to see exhibition installation.

2011 October 15 thru 19 The 1st Annual Bursa Photo Festival Bursa, Turkey. Exhibition of Invisible City. Master Photographer Guest Speaker. Member of panel disscusing book making, reader along with others present for Jason Eskanazi's Robert Frank "The Americans" and panel discussion on publishishing. Judge for the book dummy award. Portfolio reviewer. Book signing.

2011 October 1 thru 3 Platform LA West Coast preview of the limited edition of Oculus at Lapis Press booth.

2011 September 30 thru October 2 New York Art Book Fair at PS1 Debut of Oculus with advance copies at the Dashwood booth and preview of the limited edition at Charles Lane Press booth.

2011 September Invisible City @ The Photo Book Club The Photo Book Club (out of Hertfordshire, England) will be devoting the month of September to an international open sourced discussion of my book Invisible City. Posted onsite is the book in full. This is the first time Invisible City has been shown in its entirety on the internet. Take a look now and join us the month of September when the discussion begins! This is the 6th book they will have looked at. Previous focus of their attentions have been Robert Frank's The Americans, Richard Avedon's Observations, Eugene Richard's Cocaine True, Cocaine Blue, Larry Sultan's The Valley and Anders Peterson's Cafe Lehmitz. Pass the word and join right in...

2011 March 13 Double Lecture Ken Schles and Jeffrey Silverthorne at the Noorderlicht Photogallery, Groningen, The Netherlands On Sunday, 13 March, Noorderlicht is the right place to be for an inspiring afternoon about photography. Our guests will be two photographers who for many years now have been far from strangers to any audience of photography lovers: Ken Schles and Jeffrey Silverthorne. In the course of their careers both have developed a strong and highly individual style. That is reason for Noorderlicht to devote attention to these two grand masters with a book and exhibition later in 2011. Before that happens, you can already enjoy a foretaste of the experience on 13 March. Ken Schles will present a lecture on his view of the history of photography, and how it has influenced our way of seeing. In 2008 his book A New History of Photography appeared, inwhich he seeks to interpret the history as "a living document that breathes and whose significance changes according to whomever does the looking." For his thesis he draws from a quarter century of his own work and examines how ideas from many sources ultimately become embedded at the individual level. The book was hailed by Photo-Eye Magazine as one of the best photo books of the year and by now has achieved cult status in photography circles. Link to Noorderlicht website announcement.

2010 December The web entity Phonar - [fo-'när] (run by Jonathan Worth out of Coventry University in the UK) put together a list of photography books by selecting a small group of practioners, critics and writers and asking them to nominate a book. Those book authors were then, in turn, asked to do the same "…we contacted some of the worlds most inspirational photographic practitioners, thinkers, authors and publishers and asked them for a book nomination that is notable/ inspiring/ seminal/ provocative, in it's narrative structure/approach or perhaps in its 'discussion' of narrative" The results yielded 31 contributors, 60 nominations on 54 different books. Invisible City was selected twice. See for yourself.

2010 November 30 Presentation to the Library Committee at The International Center of Photography NYC. From the blog Monsters & Madonnas: "#27 Tuesday, Nov.30, 2010 International Center of Photography Library: Ken Schles shows his impeccable book dummies including a first look into his latest book dummy the profound and moving project Oculus. Tuesday evening the ICP library Committee welcomed one of the great photobook makers of recent years – the Brooklyn based photo book maker Ken Schles." read more...

August 2010 The University & College Designers Association (UCDA) bestows its award of Excellence for work on Brandeis University's viewbook, created by Deborah Weider, design director; Ken Schles principle photography.

2010 June into July Exhibition and symposium, Visual Studies Workshop (VSW) Photo-Bookworks Symposium, Rochester, NY. Exhibition is the same traveling exhibit The Photo-Book Works shown in the Sheehan Gallery, Whitman College, WA.
Symposium is July 1-3. Exhibition is June 28-July 31.

May into June 2010 Recent work for Brandeis University wins two silver awards, in two categories from the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). A sampling can be found here on this website.

2010 April 27 AmericansuburbX ran a bit about Invisible City. See it here.

March 5 2010 The Photo-Book Works exhibition in the Sheehan Gallery at Whitman College opened. Eventually the show will travel to the Visual Studies Workshop in Rochester, NY in July for their Photo-Bookworks Symposium. Curated by David Schulz.
Works on display:
Album, Hans-Peter Feldman, Walther König, 2008
American Index of the Hidden and Unfamiliar, An, Taryn Simon, Steidl, 2007
Archaeology in Reverse, Stephen Gill, Nobody Books, 2007
Atlas, Gerhard Richter, DAP, 1997
Berlin in the Time of the Wall, John Gossage, Loose Strife Editions, 2004
Chizu (The Map), Kikuji Kawada, Nazraeli Press, 2005
Echo, David Schulz, Hammer Productions, 2010
Every Building on the Sunset Strip, Ed Ruscha, Ed Ruscha, 1966
Evidence, Mike Mandel and Larry Sultan, D.A.P., 2003
Fait, Sophie Ristelhueber, Errata Editions, 2009
Fast/Days, Morten Andersen, Centro Português de Fotografia, 2007
Fields, Michal Rovner, Steidl, 2005
First, jay comes, Takashi Homma, Hassla Books, 2009
Jens F, Collier Schorr, SteidlMack, 2005
Journey Without Title, Balázs Czeizl, Visual Studies Workshop Press, 1995
Landmasses and Railways, Bertrand Fleuret, J & L Books, 2009
Lines of My Hand, The, Robert Frank, Lustrum Press, 1972
Memories of a Dog, Daido Moriyama, Nazraeli Press, 2004
Mine Fields, Bill Burke, Nexus Press, 1995
New History of Photography, A, Ken Schles, Schaden, White Press, 2008
Newport Museum Postcard Museum, The, Madeline Djerejian, Self-Published, 2008
Open Sea, Jim Goldberg, Steidl, 2009
Ozone Alert, John Wood, Visual Studies Workshop Press, 1996
Placeholders, The, Volume 3, Tate Shaw, Preacher's Biscuit Books, 2007
Record of Past Walks in Existing Landscapes, A, Hamish Fulton, Publié pour le Centre d'Art de Kerguehennec et la Galerie Laage Salomon, 1988
Riding 1st Class on the Titanic: Photographs, Nathan Lyons, Addison Gallery of American Art, MIT Press, 1999
Shimmer of Possibility, A, Paul Graham, SteidlMack, 2009
Solitude of Ravens, The, Masahisa Fukase, Bedford Arts, 1991
Still Water, by Roni Horn, SITE Santa Fe, 2000
Sunbird, by Jason Fulford, J & L Books, 2000
Toshi-e (Towards the City), Yutaka Takanashi, Errata Editions, 2009
U-ni-ty, Michael Schmidt, Scalo Zurich–Berlin–New York, 1996
Visible World, Peter Fischli and David Weiss, Walther König, 2000
Weavings, Performance #2 (Portland, Oregon), Corin Hewitt, J and L Books, 2009


March 4 2010 Invisible City and A New History of Photography: The World Outside and the Pictures in Our Heads were both acquired by the Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs at The New York Public Library.

Find Invisibe City in a library near you.
Find A New History in a library near you.

March 2010 I set up a Facebook fan page. It would please me if you join.

2010 January An informal appearance at the photo LA Schaden.com booth where I shared a working copy and prints from my new Oculus project.

2009 June A New History of Photography was a finalist for the 40th Annual Contemporary Author Book Award 2009 - LES RENCONTRES D'ARLES PHOTOGRAPHIE. A satellite showing of the book's images was projected in Arles during the festival along with other Schaden.com White Press projects in The Supermarkt space on Thursady July 9th at 9pm, Place de la Roquette, Arles, France. The two book prizes went to Susan Meiselas for In History, which documents the shattering impact of war on landscape as well as people, and to Swedish photographers Anders Pedersen and JH Engstrom for From Back Home, their collaborative study of their home country over two generations. Good as the study is, it seemed an odd choice considering the strong competition. I can't help feeling that, just as there is too much photography here, there are also too many photography books. From Sean O'Hagen, The Guardian (UK). Link to full review of the festival.


2009 September 9 From A.D. Coleman's blog Photocritic International: "I’ve known photographers who speak and write wonderfully, even brilliantly, about their own work — Mark Klett, Arno Rafael Minkkinen, and Ken Schles, to name three."

2009 May: On the French photography blog 12th Press, an essay by Nicholas Calcott on the relationship between photography and Italo Calvino's book Invisible Cities.

2009 April: On Jeff Ladd's blog 5b4, in a thread responding to Jeff's 2nd anniversary posting on the inflated value of great photobooks, there is an entry (last one) where Gerry Badger weighs in and mentions my book Invisible City. I think the whole thread is pretty interesting. Read it from the start here or click here to just read Gerry Badger's entry (Invisible City is mentioned in the 1st paragraph).

2009 April 18-19 At The Pacific Street Photographic Workshops Jeff Ladd and I taught a weekend workshop Making The Photographic Book. Response? "...both [are] incredibly passionate, well-informed teachers and your love for photography and books is very inspiring. I would recommend the class to anyone who wants to develop a deeper understanding of photography books and how to conceptualize them." — Amy S. "The sharing of ideas was generous and intelligent." — Laurie L. "Ken and Jeff were very attuned to the individual needs of the participants. ... Thanks so much for an inspiring and memorable course!" — Sebastian Z.

2009 March 11 The International Center of Photography Lecture: A New History of Photography. Runtime: 45 minutes. Link takes you off-site.

2009 February 4 and 11 Photo-Eye Magazine review: "Ken Schles: A New History of Photography" by George Slade. Response by Ken Schles. Of the exchange, Daniel Espeset, Managing Editor of Photo-Eye Magazine said,"when first designing the magazine online we were very excited about the potential for creating dialogue and interaction, rather than simply offering unidirectional interpretations of the work. This is the first time I feel like we've fully achieved that goal..."

2009 January-March : More Intensified: The Music Photography of Ken Schles, 1993-2006 a solo exhibition at The Noorderlicht Gallery in Groningen, Holland.

2008 December 31 Photo-Eye Magazine feature story: "a host of photo-world luminaries weigh in on the Best PhotoBooks of 2008" See Jeff Ladd and Markus Schaden's lists.

2008 December 30 Print Run "Best New Books | 2008" #2 A New History of Photography by Ken Schles "One of the most original and challenging books published this year."

2008 December 13 5b4 "Best Books of 2008" #4 A New History of Photography by Ken Schles (Schaden/White Press) Inventive, witty, smart and great book craftsmanship and concept.

2008 Winter 1000 Words Photography #03 winter 2008. Review of A New History of Photography by Ken Schles

2008 Novenmber 28 FAZ "How does a photographjic style develop? By observing the themes of our time!." Article on A New History of Photography by Ken Schles

2008 October 13 5b4 "Monkey see, Monkey do, everything I say sticks twice on you." review of A New History of Photography by Ken Schles

2008 September 26 Süddeutsche Zeitung Image As Container, excerpt from A New History of Photography by Ken Schles. Excerpt was translated by Andrian Kreye for publication in Germany's largest daily paper.

September 2008: Official release of A New History during Photokina, Cologne, Germany.

2008 August/September Hotshoe "Hot Books Ken Schles: A New History of Photography Insight into the mind of a great photographer," article by Bill Kouwenhoven.

2008 May 26 Süddeutsche Zeitung Cornell Capa obituary, article by Ken Schles.

2008 Spring The Hill Artists on the Hill, Kate Hanley (on the publication of A New History of Photography).

2006 March Art in America Ken Schles at Lucas Schoormans, Edward Leffingwell.

2006 March 10-13 NY Art Fairs 3/10-13/2006 At the New York Armory Show Schaden.com will show limited edition books by Ken Schles. At the Pulse Art Fair Lucas Schoormans will show photographs.

2005 November New Yorker Goings On About Town Galleries-Chelsea, Vince Aletti on Ken Schles Photographs at the Lucas Schoormans Gallery.

2005 September 4 -- October 9 My project Homeland Security debuted as part of the Noorderlicht Festival entitled Traces and Omens. Running concurrently is an exhibition of Promised Land, which will inaugurate Noorderlicht's new home and exhibition space in Groningen, The Netherlands. Click here for more details on the festival and see below for more information on Promised Land.

Interview between Miriam Nooi (050 Uitmagazine Groningen) and Ken Schles, August 1st 2005 regarding his project An Absence in the Presence of Things in the Promised Land exhibit at the Noorderlicht Gallery in Groningen, The Netherlands, which ran July 30th 2005 through October 9th 2005.

Promised Land, Noorderlicht, Groningen, 2005, photographs by Anders Petersen, Antoine d'Agata, Ken Schles, John Davies and Adrienne van Eekelen on the city of Groningen (NL). Previewed and order it here. An exhibition from the project ran cuncurrently with the Noorderlicht Photo Festival held in Groningen, The Netherlands (see above).

Marks of Honour: A Striking Library opened 5/10/2005 at the FOAM in Amsterdam and then moved over to Gallerie van Zoetendaal. Curated by Markus Schaden and Wilem van Zoetendaal, it included the work of 45 international photographers using the book as a means of expression: Morten Andersen, Paul Andriesse, Sara Blokland, Andy Bosma, Tudor Bratu, Koos Breukel, Olivier Cablat, Serge Clement, Eli Content, Nicolas Descottes, Leo Divendal, Charlotte Dumas, Machiel Botman, Bertrand Fleuret, Albrecht Fuchs, Julian Germain, Stephen Gill, Jacqueline Hassink, Elias Hassos, Koen Hauser, Todd Hido, Cuny Janssen, Verena Kaltenbach, Dirk Kome, Paul Kooiker, Katrin Korfmann, Jan Koster, ULAY, Andreas Friedrich, Loodwick Press Images, Simone Nieweg, Arno Nollen, Martin Parr, Nina Poppe, Diana Scherer, Ken Schles, Joachim Schmid, Johannes Schwartz, Harold Strak, Katja Stuke, Oliver Sieber, Ruth van Beek, Carla van de Puttelaar, Mark van den Brink, Bertien van Manen, Jasper Wiedeman and Wolfgang Zurborn.

All participating works (limited to five copies, each containing the original photobook and it´s complentary homage) offered a wide spectrum of approaches often surprising in their detail: Martin Parr chose Araki's Banquet, Koos Breukel chose Ed van der Elsken's Love On The Left Bank, Todd Hido commented on Susan Sontag's On Photography and Ken Schles made reference to Beaumont Newhall's Photography: A Short Critical History, the first english language critical history of photography. Marks Of Honour constituted a singular library and a system of reference on the most sustainable influences by the freshest visionaries in contemporary photography. Note: It was for this exhibition that I developed my project A New History of Photography: The World Outside and the Pictures In Our Heads.

Refrences on the web have all but disappeared, but this landmark exhibit was reprised for a second iteration in 2009, again at the FOAM, with new curators and contributors. In 2012 the form was appropriated by Aperture for an exhibition of artists published by the Aperture Foundation. Aperture Remix was exhibited October 17–November 17, 2012

2004 November/December Photograph Photo Books, Vice Aletti. Invisible City placed in the context of current book practice.

2004 FOAM Issue #5 NEAR, a portfolio from Invisible City. FOAM is the quarterly publication of the Photography Museum Amsterdam. (Link is to IC on this site).

N.D. A description of Invisible City found on modernrare.com.

N.D. A description of The Geometry of Innocence found on modernrare.com.

2003 Fall 2003 IPA Photographer of the Year Award for Culture. For awards listings click here. For bio, click here.

2003 February PDN Something About Mary, Kristina Feliciano.

2002 Winter Issue 70 Volume 22 Issue 2 European Photography Chris Miller.

Translations forthcoming:
"Schles' "The Geometry of Innocence" is a daring, sophisticated photo book, which the publisher has produced in technical brilliance." Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger

"Breathless, endless pictures clips between trauma and Trance, Death & Delirium." FotoMAGAZIN

"The new work of the 40 year-old American Ken Schles is simply breathtaking. A photographic masterpiece." Photo News

1999 September Foto Portfolio Nieuw Werk van Ken Schles, Eddie Marsman.

1993 January Photometro, Letter From New York, No. 38 by A.D. Coleman.

1990 April 11 International Center of Photography Photographer Lecture Series Invisible City (audio)

1989 April Splash, Thomas Beller.

1989 Spring SF Camerawork, Regarding Postmodernism Volume 16 Number 1, Marnie Gillett.

1989 April VLS, Guy Trebay.

1988 December NY Times, Andy Grundberg selects Invisible City as a notable book.

1987 January Greathouse Gallery, NYC solo exhibition

1986 June Palladium, NYC "Art After Midnight" group exhibition

1985 August Art Advisory Service, MoMA, NYC group exhibition

1985 July Civilian Warefare Gallery, NYC group exhibition

1985 July Art City, NYC group exhibition

1985 May Greathouse Gallery, NYC solo exhibition

1984 June Blum Art Institute Bard, Annadale-on-Hudson, NY group exhibition

1984 May Defacto Gallery, NYC group exhibition

1984 March New Math Gallery, NYC group exhibition

1984 March Limbo Gallery, NYC group exhibition

1983 June Tempest Gallery, NYC solo exhibition

 

 

Legend

Talk

Essay

Interview

Exhibition

Review, award or mention of note

General article

Invisible City

The Geometry of Innocence

Promised Land

A New History of Photography

Oculus

See essays only
See videos only


Notices and events can also be seen on my FaceBook page (FaceBook notices tend to be current).